HVM Racing


HVM Racing entered its first year of competition in the IndyCar Series in 2008.

Keith Wiggins purchased Bettenhausen Motorsports in 2001, renaming it Herdez Competition (2001-03) and then HVM Racing (2004-05) as it competed in Champ Car. Mario Dominguez and Michel Jourdain Jr. of Mexico as well as Brazil’s Roberto Moreno all drove under the Herdez banner.

The 2004 Champ Car season saw the team record its third victory when Ryan Hunter-Reay won at Milwaukee, leading all 250 laps. In 2006, the team had a breakthrough season under the CTE Racing-HVM banner, reflecting a partnership with comedian Cedric the Entertainer, and finished fourth in the standings with Nelson Philippe after winning the season finale at Surfers Paradise.

In 2007, Wiggins teamed up with another ex-Formula One team owner, Paul Stoddart, and the team was renamed Minardi Team USA. Driver Robert Doornbos finished third in the standings.

Wiggins, a former driver, joined Lola Cars in 1998, serving as vice president and then president of Lola Cars International Inc. in America. Wiggins joined Bettenhausen Motorsports in mid-2000 as managing director and part-owner.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s