Newman/Haas Racing


Newman/Haas Racing was formed when actor Paul Newman and long-time racer Carl Haas, competitors in the Can Am Series, each began looking to Indy car racing in 1982 under the Championship Auto Racing Teams sanctioning. They decided to join forces for 1983, with Mario Andretti as the team’s driver.

The team celebrated series titles with Andretti (1984), Michael Andretti (1991), Nigel Mansell (1993), Cristiano da Matta (2002) and Sebastien Bourdais (2004, 2005, 2006 and 2007).The team joined the IndyCar Series full time in 2008 and in September of the same year co-owner Newman passed away.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s